Wales win Six Nations 2019 title and Grand Slam honour

Home nation Wales have won the Six Nations championship 2019 title. Wales have completed grand slam honour by beating Ireland in fifth round. Welsh team outclassed Irish side 25-7 at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Wales national rugby union team have become outright Six Nations champions for 27th time. Their total championship tally stands at 39 with 12 shared titles. 2019 Six Nations also offered last major competitive preparation for Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan.

Wales have claimed their first Six Nations title after 2013 season. Welsh team have bagged their 12th grand slam honour. They have got grand slam honour for record 4th time after expansion of tournament to six teams. Welsh coach Warren Gatland has won record third grand slam honour. Wales have achieved triple crown honour for 21st time. Wales have moved to second place in World Rugby rankings, sending Ireland to third position. This was last Six Nations match for Warren Gatland and Joe Schmidt as coaches of Wales and Ireland. Both have announced resignation from coaching roles after the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Wales become 2019 Six Nations champions
Wales become 2019 Six Nations champions

Welsh rugby team attacked Ireland right from start of the match. Hadleigh Parkes hit a try on 2′, that Gareth Anscombe converted on 3′. Anscombe scored six penalties for Wales in the game. Gareth Anscombe booted three penalties in first half on 18′, 36′ and 40+2′. Scoreline read 16-0 on half time. Irish side were off colour in the first half. They tried to mount attack in second half, but failed to make comeback. Anscombe fired three penalties in second half on 49′, 54′ and 70′. Wales were leading a mammoth 25-0 at that point. Jordan Larmour restored some pride for Ireland by kicking a try on 80+3′, that Jack Carry converted on 80+4′. Wales emerged victorious 25-7 to become 2019 Six Nations champions. 2018 winners Ireland were not able to defend their title.

Wales Vs Ireland 25-7
16th March 2019 – Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Wales: 25
Try: Hadleigh Parkes (2′)
Con: Gareth Anscombe (3′)
Pen: Gareth Anscombe (18′, 36′, 40+2′, 49′, 54′, 70′)
Ireland: 7
Try: Jordan Larmour (80+3′)
Con: Jack Carty (80+4′)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *