The group stage of the 2019/20 Champions League in the state

Twenty-six teams automatically qualify for the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League group stage.

The group stage of the 2019/20 Champions League in the state
The group stage of the 2019/20 Champions League in the state

The following teams enter the group stage directly: the holders of the UEFA Champions League; Winners of the UEFA Europa League; the top four in the Spanish, English, Italian and German leagues; France and Russia in the first two; national champions in Portugal, Ukraine, Belgium and Turkey.

Bold teams qualify subject to UEFA’s final confirmation

ESP: Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid, Getafe
ENG: Liverpool, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur, Chelsea
ITA: Juventus, Napoli, Internazionale Milano, AC Milan
GER: Bayern Munchen, Dortmund, Leipzig, Eintracht Frankfurt
FRA: Paris Saint-Germain, LOSC Lille
RUS: Zenit, Lokomotiv Moskva
POR: Benfica
UKR: Shakhtar Donetsk
BEL: Genk
TUR: Istanbul Basaksehir

UEFA Champions League holders and UEFA Europa League winners, as well as six qualified teams, will also participate in the group stage.

  • The champions of Spain, England, Italy (Juventus), Germany, France (Paris) and Russia are assured of the pot 1 draw of the group stage as well as the winners of the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League. The champions of Portugal and Ukraine could also participate in pot 1 if one of the winners of the UEFA club competition or both wins the title in one of these six leagues.

Italian champions Juventus will be back next season

  • Barcelona sealed a 24th record participation in the group; Real Madrid and Porto hope to emulate them, while Juventus will become the sixth club to participate for the twentieth time. An elite group, Arsenal, could also join him.
  • Among the teams still in contention for the 2018/19 edition, Ajax is not currently in the running for an automatic spot next season. They will participate in qualifying, whether they finish first or second of the Eredivisie.
  • German prospects at Eintracht Frankfurt have not appeared in the European elite competition since the European Champion Clubs’ Cup final in 1959/60.
  • AC Milan will return to the group stage for the first time since 2013/2014.
  • Russian contenders Krasnodar were not founded until 2008 and have never qualified for the competition, even though they reached the knockout stages of the UEFA Europa League.
  • Turkey’s Istanbul leaders Basaksehir could also be beginners in the group stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *