Sri Lanka Squad for South Africa ODI Series visit announced

Sri Lanka have announced squad for ODI series in South Africa. Experienced batsman Upul Tharanga has returned in the side after impressive performance in Sri Lanka A against Ireland A one day series at home. 20-year old batsman Avishka Fernando is included in squad after collecting 523 runs in 5 matches during same Ireland A series. Left-arm pacer Isuru Udana is back in the side after hunting 11 wickets in 5 games of the Ireland A series. Right-arm offbreak spinner Akila Dananjaya is back in the squad after his bowling action was cleared by the ICC.

All-rounder Angelo Perera is included in Sri Lanka ODI squad to tour South Africa, after good run in Ireland A one-dayers and tests. Batsman Oshada Fernando has earned ODI call-up after decent form in first class cricket. Ambidextrous spinner Kamindu Mendis has also bagged ODI call-up after superb showing in the Ireland A series. Five match One Day International series will be contested from 3rd March 2019 to 16th March 2019. This series will offer major preparation for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 for both Sri Lanka and South Africa teams.

Sri Lanka squad for South Africa ODI series 2019 announced
Sri Lanka squad for South Africa ODI series 2019 announced

Injuries to main pace bowlers has forced Sri Lanka to select inexperienced trio of Vishwa Fernando, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha; who have played 11 ODIs in total. Sri Lanka skipper Lasith Malinga will have to take extra load in pace bowling and guiding youngsters. Batting all-rounder Priyamal Perera has also got maiden ODI call-up after registering two double hundreds and two centuries in the first class cricket.

Former captain Dinesh Chandimal is ignored from ODI series versus South Africa, after shockingly being dropped from the test series. All-rounders Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka and Sekkuge Prasanna were also dropped from five ODIs versus Proteas, after being part of side in New Zealand series. Opener Danushka Gunathilaka and bowlers Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Lahiuru Kumara are still on injury sidelines after series against BalackCaps. Angelo Mathews is given extended time to fully heal hamstring strain sustained in new Zealand test series.

ODI Squad for Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Isuru Udana, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *