Past Rugby World Cup Hosts:

Rugby World Cup heads to Japan and Asia for the first time in 2019, but where has the tournament hosted in the past we take a look at the past eight Rugby World Cup host nations in this piece, of course starting in 1987 Australia and New Zealand. Fans who want to watch the live action of Rugby World Cup 2019 can book Rugby World Cup Tickets online.

1987 in Australia and New Zealand

The opening tournament was co-hosted by two countries with New Zealand hosting 17 pool stage matches two quarter-finals, third-place playoff and final Australia hosting seven pool match two quarter-finals and both semi-finals. 16 teams competed in the tournament with New Zealand emerging victorious.

Past Rugby World Cup Hosts
Past Rugby World Cup Hosts

1991 in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and France

Four years on the tournament was held in the northern hemisphere for the first time by the five nations competing in the Five Nations Championship. In Pool 1 England’s group all the matches were hosted in stadiums in England Twickenham, Cross Green Welford Road or Kingsholm.

In Pool 2 Scotland and Ireland’s group the matches were held in Murrayfield Lansdowne Road or Ravenhill in Belfast. Pool 3 Wales’ group saw all the matches take place in Wales and the same can be said for Pool 4 and France. The knockout rounds took place across the five nations with Twickenham hosting the final which saw Australia win over home favorites England.

2003 in Australia

This tournament was supposed to resemble the 1987 event with Australia and New Zealand hosting matches. However, the entire tournament was shifted to Australia by itself when there was a contractual despite between the New Zealand Rugby Union and Rugby World Cup Limited.

Australia would again have a good tournament beating their rivals New Zealand and getting to the final. However, they would lose to England in extra-time.

2007 in France

France won the right to host the 2007 tournament beating out England and hosted pretty much all the games in 12 stadiums across France four were played in Cardiff and two in Edinburgh.

Despite beating New Zealand, France lost to England in the semi-finals who then went on to lose narrowly to South Africa.

Past Rugby World Cup Hosts
Past Rugby World Cup Hosts

2011 in New Zealand

The pressure intensified as the tournament went back to New Zealand in 2011, as the island nation beat out bids from Japan and South Africa to host. The All Blacks had not won a tournament since the first one in 1987 so the entire country expected Richie McCaw and co to lead them to victory. That’s exactly what happened as they beat their nemesis France 8-7 in the final.

2015 in England

Again Japan and South Africa lost out on hosting the tournament in 2015 as did Italy. This time England secured the event and the team responded by becoming the first one to fail to make it out of the group stages. New Zealand would become the first team to retain the Rugby World Cup and the first team to win it three times

Get latest updates of the Rugby World Cup Final Tickets from our trusted online ticketing platform. Rugby fanatics can book tickets on reliable rates from our online ticketing market place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *