Pakistan declare Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

15 man squad for Pakistan is announced to take part in the 2019 Cricket World Cup. Wicket-keeper batsman Sarfarz Ahmed will lead Team Green in the CWC 2019. Experienced batter Mohammad Hafeez has been named, but his inclusion is subject to fitness. Pakistan have retained 11 players from the 2017 Champions Trophy winning side. Mohammad Amir has been left out from the world cup touring party, making the major significant exclusion. Mohammad Rizwan has also missed selection as back-up glove-man.

Pakistan have selected balanced squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales. Three openers in hard-hitting Fakhar Zaman, well-composed Imam-ul-Haq and newbie back-up Abid Ali have made the cut. Five middle-order batsmen have been drafted including Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik and skipper Sarfarz Ahmed. Two spinners in Imad Wasim and Shadab Khan are part of the CWC lineup. Five fast bowlers in Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Hasnain are chosen to demolish the opposite batting heavy sides in the premier ICC men’s cricket tournament.

Pakistan announce Squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup
Pakistan announce Squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup

Selection committee headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq has picked best available playing unit for CWC 2019. It is a combination of experience and youthful aggression. Pakistan are not over-right favourites though for the mega competition. But green shirts being the unpredictable team has the tendency to produce miraculous results. Nobody had imagined it, but they had ended up 1992 world champions. Their inner belief had helped them to win the last edition of ICC Champions Trophy in 2017, in England against all odds. Pakistan will look to channel their strengths and surprise abilities to win the Cricket World Cup title for the second time.

Pakistan Squad for CWC 2019: Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *