India announce Squad for home T20I and ODI Series against Australia

India have named squad for home T20I and ODI series versus Australia. Regular captain Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah have returned after rest in one day internationals against New Zealand. Lokesh Rahul and Rishabh Pant have also been included in the limited overs series. All-rounder Vijay Shankar is also drafted in both lineups after impressive performance in the shorter formats recently. T20 and ODI series with Australia are important for Indian squad selection and preparation for Cricket World Cup 2019.

Indian cricket team will host Australia for two twenty20 internationals on 24th and 27th February 2019. Leg-spinner Mayank Markande has earned maiden T20I call up. He joins Yuzvendra Chahal as second spinner in T20I side in place of Kuldeep Yadav. Markande has impressive performances for India A against England Lions, backing up his good run in IPL. Dinesh Karthik is third wicket-keeper in T20 side besides Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rishabh Pant.

India Vs Australia Cricket Series - February-March 2019 - 2 T20Is and 5 ODIs
India Vs Australia Cricket Series – February-March 2019 – 2 T20Is and 5 ODIs

India and Australia will contest five one day international matches between 2nd and 13th March 2019. Three all rounders in Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar and Kedar Jadhav are summoned in the ODI squad. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are retained as main spinners in ODI side. Mohammed Shami keeps the pace leader role with Jasprit Bumrah in company. Siddarth Kaul is called for first two ODIs, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will join pace attack in last three one-dayers.

India cricket team chief selector MSK Prasad said: “Prior to this we had two series in New Zealand and Australia, that is where Karthik was chosen. Because Rishabh played four Test matches, so we wanted him to get a good break. He had a 20 days’ break. Then he played a couple of one-day matches against England Lions, in which he did extremely well. Then we sent him to the T20 matches (in New Zealand). So we want to give him a few ODIs also before taking a final call.”

MSK Prasad stated: “Vijay Shankar’s performance in the recent series [in New Zealand] has really changed a bit of the dynamics. He brings in that double impact to the side, which is good enough. That’s why we have included him and we’ll see how he performs in the next few matches.”

T20I Squad for India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande

ODI Squad for India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Lokesh Rahul, Siddharth Kaul / Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *