Iker Casillas was eliminated after Mohamed Salah’s red card in Liverpool’s Champions League victory on Tuesday night.
Naby goals Keita and Roberto Firmino sealed the 2-0 victory of players Jurgen Klopp, who are now favourites to reach the semi-finals. But Liverpool was fortunate to make two major decisions in each half. In the first 45 minutes, the ball seemed to hit Trent Alexander-Arnold’s arm, but as a result of a VAR overhaul, Porto was not sanctioned. And after the break, Salah no longer gave orders for his challenge to conquer Danilo in Porto.
Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg admits Salah had the chance to stay on the pitch at Anfield. “The Liverpool striker passes over the ball and clearly places his crampons on his opponent’s shin,” Clattenburg told the Daily Mail. “UEFA’s guidelines for this type of challenge are clear: anything with crampons above the ankle is a red card.
Mohamed Salah was fortunate to have escaped a red card against Porto for a horror challenge on Porto’s Danilo, according to former Premier League referee Phil Dowd.
And in his post-match Twitter post, Casillas suggested Liverpool be lucky with two major decisions by posting a picture of Salah’s challenge next to an image of Alexandre-Arnold handling the ball. Liverpool will face Porto in the second leg of their Champions League quarter-final on 17 April.
Get latest updates of Champions League Final Tickets from our trusted online ticketing platform. Football fanatics can book tickets on a reliable rate from our online ticketing market place.