Dominiko Waqaniburotu rewarded by naming Fiji’s 42-man squad for Rugby World Cup

Dominiko Waqaniburotu of Brive, who gave Fiji a historic 21-14 win over France in Paris, will lead his country to the Pacific Nations Cup and two tries with the Maor All Blacks in the World Cup prospect of rugby in Japan.

Head coach John McKee did not hesitate to ask 33-year-old Waqaniborutu to continue playing this key role by saying, Waqaniborutu was certainly an example to follow during the November tour of the last year. His leadership has been instrumental in helping the team prepare for and perform as well against the French team in Paris. Sports fanatics can book Rugby World Cup Tickets online to enjoy its stunning performances.

Dominiko Waqaniburotu rewarded by naming Fiji's 42-man squad for Rugby World Cup
Dominiko Waqaniburotu rewarded by naming Fiji’s 42-man squad for Rugby World Cup

“I’m really looking forward to working with Dominiko as a captain. I know we have a very strong leadership group on this team, which will convey a lot of values ​​and team behaviours to the camp and Rugby World Cup.”

McKee has appointed a powerful team of 42 Flying Fijians to go to Suva camp on July 1 to prepare for the upcoming matches.

We have a very good balance between the experienced players, but also the young players who have put pressure on older players added the coach whose team will be in the same group as Wales and Australia.

“Being named in this squad is no guarantee of going to the Rugby World Cup. There is a lot of competition and work to be done across all our camps, the Maori All Blacks Test matches and the Pacific Nations Cup.”

McKee was able to include top European talent but also rewarded local actors Eroni Mawi, Johnny Dyer, Mosese Voka, Frank Lomani, Luke Tagi, Joeli Veitayaki, Dolokoto Mesulame, Tuvere Veremalua and Serupepeli Vularika.

Over the past two years, we have seen an improvement in the level of local players, which is mainly due to the presence of Fijian Drua and the new Fijian Latui squad. I also think that our programs for the under-20s and our academies have become stronger.


Leeroy Atilifo, Campese Ma’afu, Eroni Mawi, Peni Ravai, Manasa Saulo, Luke Tagi, Kalivati Tawake, Joeli Veitayaki, Mesulame Dolokoto, Samuel Matavesi, Tuvere Vugakoto, Tevita Cavubati, Leone Nakarawa, Api Ratuniyarawa, Tevita Ratuva, Albert Tuisue, Johnny Dyer, Semi Kunatani, Viliame Mata, Nemani Nagusa, Mosese Voka, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Peceli Yato, Frank Lomani, Nikola Matawalu, Henri Senioli, Serupepeli Vularika, Ben Volavola, Alivereti Veitokani, Levani Botia, Sevanaia Galala, Semi Radradra, Jale Vatubua, Josh Matavesi, Vereniki Goneva, Filipo Nakosi, Waisea Nayacalevu, Patrick Osbourne, Eroni Sau, Josua Tuisova, Kini Murimurivalu, Seta Tuicuvu.

Get latest updates of Rugby World Cup Final Tickets from our trusted online ticketing platform. Rugby fanatics can book tickets on reliable rates from our online ticketing market place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *