Australia name Squad for T20I and ODI Series against India

Australia have announced squad for T20I and ODI series versus India. Aaron Finch will lead while Pat Cummins and Alex Carey have been appointed joint vice-captains. Ashton Turner has been called-up for maiden series. D’Arcy Short has is selected as cover for Shaun Marsh. Fast bowler Kane Richardson is included in place of injured Mitchell Starc. Middle order batsman Usman Khawaja and spinner Nathan Lyon have been included in the lineup, signaling that both players are important for Cricket World Cup 2019 plans.

In form batsman Shaun Marsh will miss start of the series, welcoming his second child and healing hamstring injury. His absence offers opportunity for Alex Carey and D’Arcy Short to perform well and stack claim for CWC. Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff and Jhye Richardson complete the pace battery. Adam Zampa is the other spinner in Australian ranks. Mitchell Marsh, Peter Siddle and Billy Stanlake have been left out of the squad.

Australia announce squad for T20Is and ODIs versus India
Australia announce squad for T20Is and ODIs versus India

Australian national selector Trevor Hohns said: “Unfortunately scans have revealed that Mitchell Starc sustained a substantial tear to his left pectoral muscle while bowling on the final day of the Test match in Canberra. This means he will be unavailable for the tour of India. We will instead target a return to play for the ODI series against Pakistan in the UAE in March.”

Trevor Hohns added: “Kane has been in outstanding form over the summer, including his recent performances in the BBL. Kane not only has experience playing ODI cricket for Australia, but he’s also performed well for his country when given the opportunity. Nathan Coulter-Nile provides us with another quality bowling option, he brings good energy in the field and can also score runs in high-pressure situations.”

Trevor Hohns concluded: “Ashton has been on our radar for some time, given his performances in the shorter formats. Ashton is a smart cricketer who reads the game well and provides us with another strong batting option. He’s been in good form over the summer, and he has an opportunity to put his case forward ahead of the World Cup.”

Australia Squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, D’Arcy Short (as cover for Shaun Marsh)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *